Contact Us

    Please use the contact form to send us an email - and receive a response within 12 hours.

    Emergency? Call 720-220-2277 (24/7)







Map To Our Office
Read Out Blog
Case Evaluation
Charged With A Crime?

Colorado Teen Driving Laws

Teen drivers under the age of 18 must apply for a permit and keep the permit in good standing for 12 months and be at least 16 years of age before taking the driving test.

The State of Colorado has 3 Different Types of Teen Driving Permits

The Driver Education Permit

  • The driver education permit is for teen drivers 15 years to 15 years and 6 months of age.
  • This permit is good for 3 years from the date it is issued. Prior to applying for a permit the teen driver must complete the classroom part of an approved driver education course.
  • This course should be completed within 6 months before applying for the education permit.
  • When applying for an education permit, the teen must complete and submit form DR2460, an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship.
  • After the education permit is issued, the holder must complete a driver education course consisting of behind the wheel training.
  • This training can be a 6-hour behind-the-wheel training course from A state of Colorado approved school.
  • If there is not an approved school offering a minimum of 20 hours of road training per week located within 30 miles of the teen drivers residence, then 12 hours of training with a parent, guardian or a qualified permit supervisor is allowed.
  • The teen driver must also turn in a written driving log that shows a minimum of 50 hours of driving time before applying for a driver license.
  • 10 of the logged hours must be nighttime driving.
  • If the teen driver is receiving instruction from a parent they must complete 12 hours of behind the wheel driving in addition to the 50-hour log.

The Driver Awareness Permit

  • The driver awareness permit is available to teen drivers 15 years and 6 months old to 16 years of age.
  • The applicant must provide an affidavit of liability and guardianship by filling out state form DR2460 and presenting this form during application.
  • In addition to these requirements, the teen driver must also present proof that they have completed an approved 4-hour driver awareness program.
  • This permit is good for 3 years from the date it was issued.
  • Like the driver education permit, this permit must be held by the teen driver a minimum of 12 months before applying for a Colorado driver license.
  • During the course of driving with the driver awareness permit, the driver is only allowed to drive with the person who signed the DR2460 liability and guardianship form until they reach the age of 18.

The Minor Instruction Permit

  • The minor instruction permit is available to teen drivers from 16 to 21 years old. Like the other permits it is valid for 3 years from the date it was issued and it must be held for 12 months before applying for a driver license. The applicant must provide an affidavit of liability and guardianship by filling out state form DR2460 and presenting this form during application for the minor instruction permit.
  • During the course of driving with the minor instruction permit, the teen driver is only allowed to drive with the person who signed the DR2460 liability and guardianship form until they reach the age of 18.

Required by All Permit Applicants

Every applicant under the age of 18 must provide proof of identification through a birth certificate or other certified forms of identification. A Social Security Number is required along with an Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship. The new teen driver must also pass a vision and written test before any type of permit can be issued.

Driving Curfew

For the first 12 months, teen drivers under the age of 18 are not allowed to drive between 12 midnight and 5 am except when the teen is:

  • Accompanied by a parent, guardian or a licensed driver 21 years of age who has held a valid driver license for at least 1 year is present.
  • Driving to a school sanctioned activity or school, and the school doesn’t offer transportation. He/She must have a signed statement from school officials with the event date(s).
  • Driving because of work. He/She must have a signed statement from employer.
  • Driving because of an emergency.
  • An emancipated minor and his/her parents have not canceled the license.

Financial Responsibility and Minimum Liability Insurance

The state of Colorado requires all owners of registered vehicles to carry a minimum liability insurance policy. The minimum requirements are listed below:

  • $25,000 per person in an accident
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $15,000 for property damage to others.

The amounts listed above are legal minimums. You may want to increase your coverage for added protection

The Steinberg Colorado Criminal Defense Law Firm
A Colorado Criminal Lawyer for Traffic Crimes


Other Articles of Interest:

If you found the information provided on this webpage to be helpful, please click my Plus+1 button so that others may also find it.

___________________________
H. Michael Steinberg Esq.
Attorney and Counselor at Law
The Colorado Criminal Defense Law Firm of H. Michael Steinberg
A Denver, Colorado Lawyer Focused Exclusively On
Colorado Criminal Law For Over 30 Years.
DTC Quadrant Building
5445 DTC Parkway, Penthouse 4
Greenwood Village, Colorado, 80111
Primary Web Site:  http://www.HMichaelSteinberg.com
Colorado Criminal Law Blog:  www.Colorado-Criminal-Lawyer-Online.com
Main:  303.627.7777
Cell:  720.220.2277
24/7 Pager:  303.543.4433
FAX (Toll Free):  1.877.533.6276
Always investigate a lawyer's qualifications and experience before making a
decision to retain that lawyer or, for that matter, any professional ...in any field.