Contact Us

    Please use the contact form to send us an email - and receive a response within 12 hours.

    Emergency? Call 720-220-2277 (24/7)

    Map To Our Office
    Read Out Blog
    Case Evaluation
    Charged With A Crime?

    Colorado Sex Crimes – The Colorado Statute of Limitations and Sentencing Provisions for Sex Offenses

    What Is the Statute of Limitations for Sex Offenses?

    The Colorado statute of limitations (Section 16-5-401, C.R.S) requires law enforcement personnel to commence prosecution for criminal offenses within a set period of time. The time period is different, depending on the specific crime and its circumstances. Murder, kidnapping, treason, specified sex offenses against children, and forgery have no time limit for commencement of prosecution. Most other felonies must be prosecuted within three years of the commission of the crime. The time limit is suspended for up to five years while an offender is absent from the state of Colorado.

    Felony sex offenses

    Sex offenses, especially those committed against children, have their own categories of limitations to prosecution. The time period during which an individual may be prosecuted for a felony sex offense is up to ten years after the commission of the crime. Prosecution must commence within ten years after the victim reaches the age of 18 for the felony offenses of sexual assault and unlawful sexual contact when the victim is under the age of 18 at the time of the offense. Prosecution for failure to register as a sex offender against children must commence within three years of the commission of the crime. There is no statute of limitations for specified sex offenses against children.

    Misdemeanor sex offenses

    Prosecution of misdemeanor offenses charged under the sex assault (Section 18-3-402 (3), C.R.S.) and unlawful sexual contact (Section 18-3-404 (2), C.R.S.) statutes must be commenced within five years of the commission of the crime. All other misdemeanor sex offenses must be prosecuted within 18 months of the commission of the crime.

    DNA exception

    In a case where a sex offense is reported to law enforcement officials within ten years of the commission of the crime and the identity of the offender is determined by DNA evidence, there is no time limit for commencing prosecution

    Other Articles of Interest:

    If you found the information provided on this webpage to be helpful, please click my Plus+1 button so that others may also find it.

    H. Michael Steinberg Esq.
    Attorney and Counselor at Law
    The Colorado Criminal Defense Law Firm of H. Michael Steinberg
    A Denver, Colorado Lawyer Focused Exclusively On
    Colorado Criminal Law For Over 40 Years.
    The Edward Building
    8400 East Prentice Ave, Penthouse 1500
    Greenwood Village, Colorado, 80111
    E-Mail:  [email protected]
    Primary Web Site:
    Colorado Criminal Law Blog:
    Main:  303.627.7777
    Cell:  720.220.2277
    24/7 Pager:  303.543.4433
    FAX (Toll Free):  1.877.533.6276
    Always investigate a lawyer's qualifications and experience before making a
    decision to retain that lawyer or, for that matter, any professional any field.